Distracted driving is a serious problem, and Nevada is now joining other states that ban the use of cell phones while driving.
The RGJ reports that Gov. Brian Sandoval signed into law a bill that makes texting or talking while driving illegal in Nevada.
The law allows exceptions for using hands-free devices. Fines range from $50 to $250, and a person convicted of three or more offenses within seven years can have their license suspended.
The fines and penalties become effective Jan. 1, 2012.