In Nevada, all registered motor vehicles must have valid liability insurance. Nevada's Liability Insurance Validated Electronically (Nevada LIVE) program works with Nevada insurance companies to keep track of insured vehicles. Insurance companies must submit records to the DMV.
Under Nevada law, automobile liability insurance policies must carry minimum coverage of $15,000 for bodily injury/death of one person in one accident; $30,000 for bodily injury/death of two or more people in one accident; and $10,000 for damage to property of others in one accident. In order for motor vehicles to be insured, this coverage must be validated by an insurance company authorized to do business in the State of Nevada.
The Reno Gazette Journal reports that problems have arisen from Nevada LIVE when insurers fail to send information to the DMV. When an insurance company fails to provide records to the DMV, the drivers are listed as uninsured.
As a result, some motorists are being notified to check their registration status. According to the RGJ, DMV spokesman Tom Jacobs states that drivers who are notified "shouldn't panic," and that the DMV just seeks information.